College Talent Scout

Analyzing and Scouting the Best of the NCAA

Just checking in

Hello everyone,

Haven’t thrown a new profile here for a bit, though I’m going to start working on a few guys I’m not wild about but have already scouted. I tend to have trouble finishing my defensive players, though truth be told I find defensive players harder to scout. I STILL can’t make up my mind about Curtis Taylor of LSU.

Anyways, I have a Sanchez report finished up, everything except the final grade. I want to tentatively give him a 6.5, but until he fixes the way he holds the ball he’s not an NFL player. He’s a good pick for a team that believes they can coach him up without rushing him, as he does need some work. He’s something of a “Golden Boy”. You get the feeling that everything is just so easy for him, even his “character problems” get swept under the rug. But supposedly he’s a hard worker and a bit of a film junkie as well. I still have Oregon State and Ohio State left, so even though I have four games I want to use the rest to grade him, as frankly Sanchez and Turner pretty much sum up the USC offense in terms of draft-eligible guys worth taking. You should have a Sanchez report by Sunday.

Also, I wouldn’t worry about his sexual assault allegations. From what I have researched, it sounds like the result of a hyperactive parent. I am, however, concerned that he has has incidents with campus police for public intoxication, breaking a fraternity window, and minor in possession. This isn’t one mistake, this seems like a string of minor incidents. That worries me a bit. For what it is worth, in interviews he seems like a great guy. He’s certainly media-friendly.

Also, one concern I have had for a while is about Stafford’s intelligence. He sure doesn’t look like the brightest tool in the shed, and his penchant for double-covered deep throws didn’t help. However, I’ve listened to a few interviews and he seems plenty intelligent, either that or incredibly well prepared, because I’ve heard other interviews where he has seemed only average. In some cases, this is an agent telling the guy what to day. In other cases, it is a guy who is not good with the media, training to become better and allowing himself to shine.

I caught Stafford against Georgia Tech and despite good numbers he looked terrible. When he throws off his back foot, his passes sail all over. I hadn’t noticed that before, so I am a little concerned. As I type this I have the bowl game against Michigan State on, want to get a read on Ringer as well as finalize Stafford. He seems to lose some accuracy when he flicks the ball, but when he is throwing with good mechanics he is very accurate. I have to say, every time I watch Moreno I catch my breath, the guy is just plain exciting. He’s probably not a possibility as a Seahawk, we have bigger needs and I’m not sure how well he’d fit here, but he’s definitely my favorite player in the draft. Exciting guy to watch. Whoever takes him will be happy.

Also, I did scout Alex Mack today. Against Maryland. I know many of you guys are curious about Mack. STUD. He’s athletic enough to run zone, in fact against Maryland I saw quite a few zone runs so he is probably familiar with the basics of zone play. He’s definitely athletic enough to run it, fluid player as well. A little worried about his balance, but not bad, at worst average. If he is available in the 2nd, Seattle has to take him. A no-brainer, I’m convinced he can play guard as well.

Anyways, just felt like talking draft and sharing some thoughts.

February 5, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Thanks for the little write up about Mack. You confirmed what I’ve thought since I first saw him play a couple years ago.

    Comment by bigwig | February 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. Thanks for the update!

    Comment by DSAhawker | February 5, 2009 | Reply

  3. Wow, very cool notes about Mack. I think he may be this year’s TR “it.” I hope, at least. It’s a similar situation to 2005, our starting center is in a contract year and has injury troubles (albeit, isn’t 35 like Tobeck was). We know Ruskell won’t hesitate to take a center early. I hope he’s there at 37.

    I couldn’t agree more about Sanchez. Well put. His history combined with his limited starting experience could prevent TR from taking a long look at him.

    Comment by Nano | February 6, 2009 | Reply

  4. I could see Ruskell falling in love with Mack.

    I’d be surprised if he’s available for us, however. He’s a tantalizing blend of size and athleticism. Mack is good enough to play for Pittsburgh, and IMO they’d be insane not to take him with their first. When I get done grading him (tomorrow, I hope), I’ll probably give him a 6.4-6.6 grade, which is pretty darn high (borderline top-10, IIRC.)

    Now, it’s up to you to decide where you would take that player, as the grade is meant as a reflection of their future performance in the league, not their draft value. A very valid question is asking “is Mack worth our 2nd and 3rd round choice”? I’m not sure about that. He’d be a great player for us. But this team has already given up a 3rd round pick last year, and gave up a 5th already this year. If, for example, we can get Crabtree, Mack, and Jeremiah Johnson in the 4th (a guy I like)… is that enough? It’d be a nice haul, for sure, but that still leaves us with FA having to address at least S, DT, and LB. Just a concern I have.

    Comment by rotak | February 8, 2009 | Reply

  5. Jeeeeesh. Having tons of needs sucks. I think it’s unlikely we can patch things up in one year, and I don’t mean to be a pessimist–I’m just looking at our holes with my most sober eye.

    If you believe the player is worth it and is a near sure thing–and will anchor your line for years–he’s worth a couple of choices. Even if it means you won’t fill another hole.

    I keep coming back to the Carlson choice, but it’s a great example of this. We really could have used that 3rd for a safety or to take advantage of the RB class–but, in hindsight, Carlson was worth it.

    Although, at the time, I also wanted Bennett more.

    Comment by Nano | February 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a comment