College Talent Scout

Analyzing and Scouting the Best of the NCAA

New Mock Draft

Yeah, I know I’m a week late in this. Sorry!

Also, as a rule, I don’t put trade-downs in my mock.

1.) Detroit Lions: Matthew Stafford, QB, UGA
While it is tempting to change this just because, I still think Stafford is the top rated player and I think believe the Lions will take a Quarterback unless they somehow trade down.
2.) St Louis Rams: Eugene Monroe, LT, Virginia
I have no idea if the Rams are even thinking about Monroe, but the more I think about it the less likely I believe a Crabtree selection will take place here. Monroe currently ranks as the best tackle on several respectable draft sites, and while I am quite high on Oher, until I grade Monroe carefully (he didn’t impress the one game I graded) I can’t really dispute that. I think StL is more likely to take Monroe, as Oher’s questionable nastiness may sound to familiar of the concerns surrounding Alex Barron when he left Florida State.
3.) Kansas City Chiefs: Aaron Curry, LB, Wake Forest
The hiring of Scott Pioli from the New England Patriots changes this quite a bit (as did Bradford not declaring). Pioli does not seem to take WRs in the first round, and may well believe in his ability to find a good quarterback late in the draft. Curry is an excellent, safe linebacker who seems to fit a bit of a need with the very young Chiefs.
4.) Seattle Seahawks: Michael Crabtree, WR, Texas Tech
I bet this mock seems a lot more normal than the last one. While I am still high on Oher, I actually think he falls a bit the way this mock draft has played out. I just wrote the report on Crabtree, and he grades out very high and would fill an immediate need with the Seahawks.
5.) Cleveland Browns: Brian Cushing, LB, USC
Teammate and fellow LB Rey Maualuga dissappointed during his senior-bowl weigh in (looking undefined), and while I think that is bull, for now at least he is dropped on this Mock. Cushing, on the other hand, is a riser, and the Browns desperately need another rush-LB to pair up with Kamerion Wimbley in their defense.
6.) Cincinnati Bengals: Michael Oher, LT, Ole Miss
Since when have the Bengals worried about taking a possible headcase? While I think Oher is smart enough to handle the game, some teams likely will rule him out. Cincinnati needs a tackle in a bad way, and will get their choice of some top tackles in this draft. If Oher makes it to 6, I’d be surprised if he makes it to 7.
7.) Oakland Raiders: Jason Smith, LT, Baylor
I’m not convinced WR Jeremy Maclin won’t be the guy come April, but Al Davis would be smart (making this move unlikely) to invest a little in protecting JaMarcus Russell.
8.) Jacksonville Jaguars: BJ Raji, DT, Boston College
Initial reports are that Raji is impressing at the Senior Bowl, where he will definitely be in contact with the Jacksonville coaching staff. We’ve seen impressive Senior Bowl players drafted by Senior Bowl coaches, and Raji fills a giant need at defensive tackle.
9.) Green Bay Packers: Rey Maualuga, LB, USC
With Green Bay shifting to a 3-4 defense, they are stuck with a big need in the middle, where current LB Nick Barnett is unlikely to thrive. Maualuga would be a great grab for the Packers here, as he would bring the intensity needed to revive a lackluster defense with plenty of talent.
10.) San Francisco 49ers: Mark Sanchez, QB, USC
This pick scares me too much not to happen. If Sanchez makes it down to #10, which isn’t certain, the 49ers would be doing themselves a huge favor by taking the USC product and easing him in slowly to the offense. The best news for Seattle fans is that Sanchez may not make it this far down.

January 21, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Thanks Kyle. Solid rationale in all the picks, despite the fact that it seems to fall in Seattle’s favor. I was worried a bit at first about Pioli, but I think the Curry pick is right on. He’s a lot of experts top player in the draft, and seems like a “Pats pick.”

    Detroit has to take Stafford, IMO. And I think OT has to be STL’s pick, in terms of the BPAWWS model. They have a hole at RT and will soon have one at LT as well.

    Comment by Nano | January 21, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hard to argue with that.

    Comment by bigwig | January 21, 2009 | Reply

  3. I have a hard time right now giving Crabtree to the Rams or the Chiefs, and I can’t picture the Lions taking him. The Rams taking Crabtree when OT is on the board makes as much sense to me as us taking OT with Crabtree on the board.

    Holt, like Walt, is on his last legs, but he still starts if he is healthy. There may be long-term needs, but with a more immediate need-filling player available, I don’t see why they would. After reading up on Pioli, I think the Chiefs will trade down, but even if they stay put I can’t picture them going WR, he just hasn’t done it in his career.

    Comment by rotak | January 22, 2009 | Reply

  4. If the Chiefs are able to trade down, I’ve got to think their trade partner is targetting either Crabtree or Curry.

    Comment by Nano | January 23, 2009 | Reply

  5. I’d agree… I’d say more than likely Crabtree.

    Could also be targeting Sanchez, but only if they’re picking out of the top-10. If we don’t take him, he’ll fall to at least San Fran (unless a team trades up to take him).

    If we hear “the Chiefs have traded their pick”… expect us not to get Crabtree.

    Comment by rotak | January 23, 2009 | Reply

  6. Kyle, you are a very knowledgable solid writer. Keep up the good work.

    Comment by larry | January 27, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

